I am not the woman from New Mexico

Just to clarify, if there’s any confusion out there…

If you look for me on Facebook, you may find a woman (yes) with my name who lives in (get this) Roswell, New Mexico. Her photo is of the Creature from the Black Lagoon (that’s an old horror movie from the ’50s). And her Facebook page seems to be mixed up with mine. Very strange. Here’s what the hit looks like:

Jerry Kann | Facebook

Jerry Kann is on Facebook. Join Facebook to connect with Jerry Kann and others you may know. Facebook gives people the power to share and makes the 

 
Note that my name’s spelled correctly up top, but not in the URL (where it’s spelled “Kahn”). I didn’t put that out there. Obviously *some*body did. Maybe the Facebook administrators are just incompetent and can’t spell. I don’t know.

I have no idea how this happened. I frankly don’t understand anything about Facebook, and I’m not sure I want to. It’s all right. I want to start up a movement here in the neighborhood, returning to face-to-face communication. I’ve said in all my campaigns that, if elected, I would report to the community once a month at least. See my article, “How Elected Community Councils Can Make New York City Government More Democratic and More Responsive,” toward the bottom of the scroll of this blog. At those Community Council meetings, people would relate to each other face-to-face, like human beings, not via Facebook or any other electronic “platform” (whatever that is). I think it would be more productive. And more fun.

Leave a Reply

