Oh, those poor rich people.

Sept. 18, 2013

The most important step we need to take in this city in 2014 is to raise taxes on those who can most afford to pay. It’s not a question of if we’re going to do it. Rather, it’s just a question of how.

I have a lot to share about the question of taxation, but not much time to do it just now. I’ll follow up with a longer post later, but for right now let me get the main points down:

1) I’ve proposed that we raise the Personal Income Tax on residents who make more than $500,000 a year. But we keep reading in the papers that this cannot be done because the State Legislature will not approve it. I’m not sure that our state government is that predictable, but if it is, then there’s another possible approach to the problem. It so happens that the City Council and the Mayor can raise property taxes without getting the go-ahead from the State of New York. We should start to talk about ways we can raise taxes on properties of highly assessed value. Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

2) I have to point out that I’m the only City Council candidate in District 22 calling for raising taxes on the upper brackets. In any case, I made this point repeatedly at the Zone 126 forum on Aug. 27. All the candidates attended that forum, and none of them was saying what I was saying about raising taxes on rich people. I picked the figure of 1 percent (see my basic, 3-point platform) pretty arbitrarily. I thought that it would at least get the ball rolling, so to say, on the discussion of taxes.

Again, please look for a longer, more expansive post on this issue soon.

Jerry

Leave a Reply

